A special thank you

The dishes are drying, the food is put away. It’s been an hour since my last guest and her baby said goodbye and left to catch the bus back home. In these quiet, peaceful moments while my baby naps and I wait for my husband to return from a father-son dinner with friends, I’m reflecting on a great afternoon with some wonderful women. Since today is International Women’s Day, this seems like a great opportunity to show my appreciation for all the wonderful women in my life.

Today’s women of mention are a group of new moms I started meeting with last fall, shortly after our babies are born. We had all signed up for an eight-week new moms’ group coordinated by the hospital where we gave birth, and we hit it off so well that now, nearly five months later, we’re still meeting.

Today was my turn to host, and I took the opportunity to treat my friends to some Scandinavian baked goods. Having a baby who is totally dependent on me means I don’t bake on a whim as often as I used to, so I took advantage of this opportunity to shower my friends with love in the form of a Swedish Cheesecake and Swedish Apple Pie. Some say it’s risky to make a recipe for the first time when you’re having company, but I decided to give these recipes a try, and I’m glad I did. I promise to share the recipes with you soon.

In the meantime, thank you to all my wonderful friends–those of you who were here today and those who weren’t. Thank you to my mom, who helped out so I could host today–I love you and am thankful to have you as my mother. Thank you to my mother-in-law for being one of the loveliest women I know. And to my sisters-in-law, grandmothers, and cousins and aunts and friends–thanks for being a part of my life.

Leave a Reply

