A new home and new beginnings

A pot of tea and Wi-Fi has been drawing me to the Teacup in Queen Anne quite often this month. I’ve declared this summer to be a season of moving, and while the new house started to feel like home immediately, the loose ends–including getting our internet connection set up–are taking a while to tie up.

An even bigger inconvenience than the lack of internet connection has been a kitchen that’s been in flux for longer than I’d like to admit. It’s probably been at least a month and a half–maybe even two months–since I’ve cooked a proper meal. Sure, we’ve been eating at home and my husband has been grilling, but until this past weekend the kitchen wasn’t in full working order. Now the pots and pans are finally in their drawers, the pantry is filled, if not properly organized, and the plates and stemware have found their homes. Thursday is the night to break in the new kitchen.

It will be a special night, an inaugural first meal. Will we make pasta, steak with roasted summer vegetables, or maybe some summery salads? I’m not sure yet, but I know I’m looking forward to it–just as much as I’m looking forward to fully getting settled into the rest of the house and therefore being able to establish some new routines.

I just finished reading Apartment Therapy: The Eight-Step Home Cure and am inspired by author Maxwell Gillingham-Ryan’s approach to making a place of residence into a home and also his recommendations for keeping it that way. A dear friend of mine talks about making her home into a haven, and though I’ve aspired to do the same, I’ve felt until now that I’ve lacked the tools (and the organization) to do so. Now, whether it’s setting up defined areas for each activity we do in our home, bringing home fresh flowers on a regular basis, or simply cleaning up the kitchen after dinner each night instead of leaving it until morning, I’m moving into a new home with a new set of habits, and they’re ones that are sure to make this new structure a comfortable and inviting place for my immediate family and for all those we welcome into our home.

The pot of tea is almost empty and there’s still some work I need to do online before I close the laptop and head home, so I’ll sign off for now. I hope you all enjoy the final days of August and stop by again soon.

3 thoughts on “A new home and new beginnings

  1. Congrats on you new home. The search and settling in a new home has always been demanding task. It takes some time to make the new place feel like home, and it’s an everyday work to keep it that way =)
    very nice blog!

Leave a Reply

